About the ELPAC


The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the mandated state test for determining English language proficiency (ELP). It is administered as an initial assessment to newly enrolled students whose primary language is not English, as indicated on a home language survey; and annually as a summative assessment to students who have been previously identified as EL students. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards external icon.

The ELPAC is delivered via a computer-based test delivery platform. The four domains (Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing) will be administered on computer except for the Writing domain for kindergarten through grade two, which will remain as a paper-based test.

Types of ELPAC Assessments

  • Initial ELPAC—primary identification of students as English learners (ELs)

    The administration window is July 1 to June 30.

  • Summative ELPAC—annual assessment to measure an EL student's progress and to identify the student's ELP level

    The administration window is February 1 to May 31.

  • Alternate ELPAC—annual assessment to measure and identify the student's ELP level, for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities

    The administration window of the Statewide Operational Field Test is November 1, 2021, through May 31, 2022.

Test Blueprints