Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings

The Initial English Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) testing window is July 1, 2018, through June 30, 2019. To prepare for this test administration, there will be 21 Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings held statewide, April through May 2018, and makeup trainings in August 2018.

Attendance at Statewide Trainings

Each local educational agency (LEA) has been allocated a specific number of seats to attend the Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings. This is a mandatory training for each LEA who will be administering the new ELPAC. Representatives from all LEAs, including those trained for the Summative Assessment administration in the fall of 2017, must also attend one of the trainings below.

All LEA and/or county staff who intend to provide a regional training must also attend this training before conducting their own. The trainings will follow a "training-of-trainers" model, designed so that attendees can provide in-person training to their own LEA.

The training will run from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. for kindergarten through grade twelve LEAs. LEAs serving only grade six through twelve will be dismissed at 1:30 p.m. This training series will focus primarily on the local scoring of the Initial ELPAC Writing domain.

Training Locations

The California Department of Education–sponsored statewide trainings will take place from April 10 through May 24, 2018. Additional trainings will be held in August 2018. The tentative schedule is shown below. Trainings are scheduled for the following dates and locations:

DateDayLocation
April 10 Tuesday Sacramento - FULL
April 12 Thursday Redding
April 17 Tuesday Ventura - FULL
April 18 Wednesday Burbank - FULL
April 19 Thursday Montebello
April 20 Friday Torrance - FULL
April 24 Tuesday Bakersfield
April 25 Wednesday Clovis - FULL
April 26 Thursday Oakdale
May 1 Tuesday Monterey - FULL
May 2 Wednesday San Jose - FULL
May 3 Thursday Sacramento
May 8 Tuesday Palm Springs
May 9 Wednesday San Diego - FULL
May 10 Thursday Oceanside
May 15 Tuesday Santa Ana
May 16 Wednesday Rancho Cucamonga
May 17 Thursday Norco
May 22 Tuesday Redwood City
May 23 Wednesday Santa Rosa
May 24 Thursday Concord

Training Overview

The Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings will provide an overview of the test administration. A majority of the training day will be spent on the administration and scoring of the Writing domain.

Registration

Registration will open on Thursday, February 1, 2018. In January, LEA ELPAC Coordinators will receive an e-mail containing registration information for their LEA. Due to the limited number of seats at each training, only the LEA ELPAC Coordinator will be allowed to register participants for trainings. Each LEA has been allocated a specific number of seats to attend the Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings.

Registration will be on a first-come, first-served basis, until each training site is full. LEAs may register all of their staff for one location or each participant for separate locations.

Regional Workshops

Please note that all ELPAC Test Examiners are required to be trained to administer the Initial ELPAC 2017–18. To accommodate your LEA’s training needs, many regional workshops around the state will be available. As each becomes available, the regional workshops will be posted on the ELPAC Web site on the Initial Assessment Regional Training List Web page.